BTVS FTW

As I watch season one of Buffy the Vampire Slayer for the umpteenth time, I realize how great my childhood was. I began my Buffy obsession at the age of nine… and established a meaningful friendship at the same time.

I saw that a new show was to start based on a terribly cheesy movie that I loved when I was nine years old. I immediately decided that I would watch the show… however, I was still late to the game. The first episode I viewed was Witch. Episode three.  It didn’t matter too much to me. I got the idea having watched the travesty if a movie (more on that later).

Of course, me being the socially awkward child that I was, I grasped for subjects to talk about with my fellow peers. The subject of this new pop culture show, Buffy, came up, and I suddenly had something to relate to. I mean we all wish that we could be as bad ass as a vampire slayer (on a side note: I have the best husband. He randomly bought me a license plate frame saying “Mom, I’m a vampire slayer.”).

I was able to form my first true best friendship. It was a boy that also had an obsession with the series and movie. Though, I suspect his obsession began with the physical appeal of the main character.  After all, he did end up acquiring a cardboard cut out of Buffy when we were 12…. I feel that I have to admit here that I too had a cardboard cut out…. but of Spike. Though, I did not acquire it until I was 21ish? My husband randomly bought it for me. He buys me a lot of random shit that is awesome. I think I chose a good one, no?

Anyhow, my obsession was so clear that my father bought me first season of Buffy. Keeping in mind, we weren’t super well off and buying a season’s worth of a show was quite expensive at the time.

Needless to say, I have always been a nerd and will continue to exude my nerdiness. Be it with BTVS or with Evil Dead (BTW super frelling excited for the show, but that is another blog entirely).

Share your thoughts

