The Stink Eye

Sorry I have been away from the blog-o-sphere for more than a few days. I have been going crazy with cleaning and changing out furniture. I inherited my dad’s roll top desk and some cabinets and some of his stuff. I also got a new couch and a new chair that actually MATCHES the couch. That is the first time I have ever had that happen.

My house is now beginning to look like adults actually live here. Not just nerds with animals. Yes, we are still nerds, but it is far more hidden… well, until you go upstairs into the “control room”… it is filled with Star Wars stuff and some other awesome nerdtastic things, but mostly Star Wars.

No, I don’t think I am going to post pictures. Number one, that would be a little creepy for people that I have never met to see my home. I don’t know why. I think it is because I don’t even like people that I hang out with to really come over all that often. I don’t do the whole hostess thing normally. Once in a blue moon ,,, speaking of blue moon…. I really want a beer right now…. What was I saying? Oh, right. Once in a blue moon, I allow people to enter my home… only after hours and hours of cleaning and prepping. I am a slob. But you wouldn’t know it if you were to be invited over. Only if you showed up unannounced… but then again, if you did that I would likely punch you in the face. I don’t like surprises. Just ask my husband.

Anyhow, the next few things on the list are to paint pretty much the entire house. It has been on the list for years. Years and years. I even got paint for my bedroom…. in 2011. I just never got around to it. I hate painting. Well, walls anyway. I love painting canvases. Mostly nerd stuff. I will show you guys some examples of those later. Not in this post. Because… reasons. No really… I have legitimate reasons not to reveal them at this time. One is that one of my canvases is in my husband’s office at work. The other is… well it is a secret. For now.

Where was I? Oh, and I need to replace the flooring downstairs. I want hardwood. Chomp kind of chewed up a section of the carpet. I want to put in a nice backsplash in the kitchen… mostly to deal with the fact that I am a MESSY cook. I fling sauces and splash soups. I am a slob in most aspects of my life. Laundry gets thrown anywhere…. except the hamper. I hoard glasses on my nightstand. I am just a messy person. Much to the dismay of my neat freak mother. Her home is so clean that it often feels like a staged home or a museum where you really shouldn’t touch anything. Of course, when I visit… the kitchen becomes a mess for a bit. But I at least clean up there. Mostly due to fear of my mother’s Korean Stink Eye. It is a thing. Really! The power of the Korean Stink Eye cannot be matched. One look with the stink eye and the most hardened, hardcore criminal would cry from fear and shame. It’s a thing. Trust me.

Share your thoughts

