Erika… Korean Tour Guide Extraordinaire

I spent the day with family from the motherland, Korea, today. I met them and my mother in Seattle and played tour guide. I showed them the original Starbucks because they really wanted the photo op and original logo cups. I played translator for half of the group while my mother handled the other half. It was broken. But it worked. I mostly got the point across when attempting to speak Korean. It was riddled with English and horrible grammar. And I kept forgetting to add the formal ending to almost every sentence while speaking to my elders. Overall, my watching Korean soap operas has actually improved my Korean over the past few years. That’s right Rosetta Stone. I learned from watching TV. Well…. Not TV really. Netflix. I have found some of the best Korean dramas on Netflix.

Share your thoughts

