The Final Frontier?

Today marks the culmination of my efforts for the past two years. Today, I take the VTNE (Veterinary Technician’s National Exam). If I pass, I will be a licensed vet tech. I will be able to provide the best care to animals as a vet tech at an amazing clinic. Seriously, dudes, I love my new clinic.

The past two years have been full of hardships. My love, my sidekick, my best friend…. lost her battle to lymphoma last June. It is still so hard for me to talk about. She was the best thing about me. She was the reason that I got into the veterinary field. She was my boxer. She died at the age of six and a half. Too young. I didn’t have enough time with her. She was a part of me. The best part of me.

Today, all of my hard work in school and at work will have paid off. I am so nervous, excited, queasy, and fucking terrified all at the same time. I have had the best support from my husband, my friends, and my family. Thank you all. Wish me luck!

**** Update ****

When I completed the 3 hour long test, I got up from the computer and approached the proctor. My heart was pounding. My legs were weak. When I sat down in front of her while she checked my status in the computer, I swear to Bob, time fucking stopped, but my heartbeat did not. I nearly projectile puked. Like, think The Exorcist, but like a million times worse.

When she looked over at me and said two words….. I nearly fainted. “You passed.” And then I cried like a bitch.

Share your thoughts

